doyle: tardis (neruda)
[personal profile] doyle
It kind of got left out in my post-Buffy squeeing, but I went to see Matrix Reloaded on Wednesday night.

If you liked the movie at all, it might be best not to read this...



Now, I loved the first movie. And I'm a bit fan of SF and any type of fighty-fighty movies, so this should have been a good few hours of solid entertainment. Instead it felt like at least a week of pain.

First off, the stuff I liked...

- Gina Torres! [livejournal.com profile] connorbeast (henceforth to be referred to as CB) and I both bounced excitedly at her cameo. Sadly, she didn't reappear, but it backed up our theory that Laurence Fishburne doesn't let her out of his sight (would you, if she was your wife? The orgy/party scene should have consisted of Morpheus getting on the stage and announcing "I'm married to Gina Torres! And none of you are! Ahahaha!")

- Augustus from Oz!

- the hundreds of Hugo Weavings were fabulous. I could have watched a whole movie about Smitty (as we dubbed him) in his many incarnations. I have an image of my head of all the Smittys, disconsolate about being defeated by Neo, slinking off to the nearest bar for a drink. All of them with identical shots of whisky except the one rebel with a cute cocktail with an umbrella in it...

The stuff I didn't like...

- just about everything else. The fight sequences were overlong. The revelation that ghosts and vampires and werewolves exist made me roll my eyes, as did the inclusion of the annoying Animatrix kid. The plot made my head spin. The Architect and the French guy made me want to set them on fire and jump up and down on their corpses.

On the plus side, it gave me a rock-solid excuse to use the line "blah, blah, orgasmcakes".



In other news, I'm reading Gone With the Wind. Never seen the movie (I tried a couple of rental stores and the library, but none of them have it - I have a feeling I'm going to end up buying it) but I'm adoring the book. And, of course, I'm mentally recasting with the Buffyverse characters. Joss has ruined me. And not in the fun way.
ext_10190: Doctor Who's Rose smiling (Default)
Posted by [identity profile] bailunrui.livejournal.com
OMG. GWTW is one of my favorite books... Ever. Seriously, I must of read it and Scarlett a hundred times over (a little exaggeration there). Are you thinking of Scarlett as Buffy and Rhett as Spike? Cause that would kind of work. The rogue blockade runner laying everything aside for the love of a woman who has her eyes on someone else the whole time... Oh! I think I have the cast list:

Scarlet......................Buffy Summers
Rhett........................Spike The Bloody
Ashley.......................Angel The Poof
Melanie......................Cordy (though I don't see her as mealy-mouthed)
Mammy........................Anya Really Long Last Name
Gerald O'Hara................Giles
Maureen O'Hara...............Joyce
Charles......................Riley Finn

That's all for now.... you make me want to re-read it. :)
Posted by [identity profile] circe-tigana.livejournal.com
Disagree with Cordy ... I say Fred as Melly. Not as accurate re: Angel love, but Fred's just so damn sweet (but really not). I always suspected Melanie was too good to be true.

Anya as Mammy is PERFECT

Cordy would be Sue Ellen! :)

ext_9063: (Default)
Posted by [identity profile] mlyn.livejournal.com
Cordy would be Sue Ellen! :)

WORD!

on 2003-05-24 10:18 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] circe-tigana.livejournal.com
I was CRUSHINGLY disappointed in the Matrix Reloaded.
I mean crushingly. It was like fifteen minutes was cut, for no good reason. I refuse to believe that the original script had that leap from the Keymaster (are you the gatekeeper?) exposition to the plan to blow up a power plant. The last part of the movie was totally at odds with the rest. Hmm ... need to cut something? How about that fucking restaurant scene with the orgasmcake?? Or the kiss in the bathroom? No, instead we cut NECESSARY exposition. What the fuck was that???

I am REALLY bitter about how the movie turned out. I loved the original. Loved it.

Re: Gone with the Wind -- is there any book I love more? Not many. Scarlett rocks my freakin' world.

Profile

doyle: tardis (Default)
doyle

January 2016

S M T W T F S
     12
3 456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:03 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios