doyle: tardis (Default)
[personal profile] doyle
I watched a couple of episodes of The Sark and Lauren Spy Hour Alias with [livejournal.com profile] connorbeast and was wondering about the Lauren hate I've stumbled across in various places: why do people seem to hate her? She's fabulous! Admittedly this is based on very few episodes...

CB and I agreed that Sark is probably going to end up working for the CIA as the snarky reluctant ally, and Syd and Vaughn will say something dumb and he'll be like "this is the team that foiled my every move? I am deeply shamed" (TM Spike) and in the series finale Syd will emotionally confess her love as he's about to set off the bomb that will take out the Covenant, and he'll say "no you don't, but thanks for saying it." And she'll run out. And Sark will say "hey, Vaughn, mind this nice shiny ticking countdown machine for a minute" and run off to have a wild threesome with Syd and Lauren.

To completely change the subject, a gorgeous, twisted poem:


It all began so easy
With bricks upon the floor
Building motley houses
And knocking down your houses
And always building more.

The doll was called Christina,
Her under-wear was lace,
She smiled while you dressed her
And when you then undressed her
She kept a smiling face.

Until the day she tumbled
And broke herself in two
And her legs and arms were hollow
And her yellow head was hollow
Behind her eyes of blue.

He went to bed with a lady
Somewhere seen before,
He heard the name Christina
And suddenly saw Christina
Dead on the nursery floor.

Louis Macneice


(ETA: that poem's been in my head all day, and I've just worked out it's because I've been thinking about Warren. Christina/Katrina... *is a poetry geek*)

on 2004-05-16 07:20 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] leni-ba.livejournal.com
Sark will say "hey, Vaughn, mind this nice shiny ticking countdown machine for a minute" and run off to have a wild threesome with Syd and Lauren.

*ggg* I love the way you think.

on 2004-05-16 08:01 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] onetwomany.livejournal.com
why do people seem to hate her? She's fabulous

I think it was largely a shipper thing - several people I know said they were "preparing to hate her" before she even started on the series. Melissa George seemed well aware that she'd be facing that kind of reaction before she started, so I'm thinking she was set up for that in a way. Certainly, she was very saccharine to begin with, although that makes sense now.

Then, for those of us who aren't shippers but are Australian, there was the small issue of her having been on Home & Away. But let us speak of that no more, given I agree she's fabulous as Lauren.

on 2004-05-17 02:33 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] doyle_sb4.livejournal.com
I vaguely remember her as Angel on Home and Away, but I'm awful with faces anyway so I didn't recognise her. I saw her name in the credits and was like "Melissa George? *That* Melissa George?"

on 2004-05-16 10:51 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] cosmic.livejournal.com
I lurve Lauren. She's pretty, fun AND evil. What more could a girl want?

Some people were presupposed to hating her, because she was The Wife and thus broke up the OTP. Since that just seemed silly to me, I didn't. Also some of my friends complain about her accent and eyebrows, but the accent's never bothered me, so.

Profile

doyle: tardis (Default)
doyle

January 2016

S M T W T F S
     12
3 456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 10:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios